Ostfriesland

a cup of tea- but lacking the creamy clouds
a cup of tea- but lacking the creamy clouds

Weras parents awaited us with sandwiches at Bremen airport and east frisian weather welcomed us at its best. It´s far too mild for this time of the year, very windy and very wet. The month november had been the dryest november since the beginning of weather recording and even the river rhine nearly dried out. Unfortunately all the rain not just disappeared- it just arrived a little later to give us a very wet christmas season. But- we´ve decided never again to complain about the weather. Life is too short for that kind of stuff. Inside it´s warm and comfy with candlelight and christmas decoration and it seems we have never ever sat together and drunk tea that often. In East Frisia, a very special blend of different black teas is served in tiny little porcelaine cups and refined with candy-sugar and a few drops of cream. It´s simply delicious and served at all times of the day.

 

Friso enjoying his favorite food
Friso enjoying his favorite food

So what did we do apart from drinking lots of tea?  We ate "Grühnkohl"- our favorite winter dish of all times.  It´s popular in northern Germany and served with smoked meat and sausages and potatoes.... very yummy!!

And, of course, we went to Aurich´s christmas market and had Bratwurst and "Matjes-Brötchen" which tasted so good after such long time without it. We visited friends and family and got to know a lot of new familiy members and little new friends, for whom we had to make lots of welcome presents...

Singing at the living advent calendar
Singing at the living advent calendar

We also attended a "living Advent Calendar" which was something completely new for us. Normally, advent calenders are made for the kids to shorten the long waiting for christmas day and they consist of 24 small doors with chocolate or 24 small packages with sweets or little gifts- one for each day of december until day 24. However, the living advent calender is more for grown ups and completely different. First of all, it´s not every day, but every few days or every sunday in december, depending on the people organizing it. People simply meet in the early evening with candlelight and hot chilled wine or tea and sing some christmas carols or hear some christmas music or make some music or hear a prayer.... It usually lasts between 30-60 minutes and really gives you the christmas feeling. We went to one of these "Living Advent Calendar´s meetings" in the barn of Wera´s aunt Annegret. The barn was so nicely decorated with hay and cookies and lights and tree branches- it made everybody feel like being in the stable in Bethlehem. There was a priest with some nice words, there were an accordion and a guitar - and lots of tasty cookies and around 50 people from the neighbourhood....We sang a few songs together and really enjoyed this peaceful gathering in this usually busy time of the year. 

And then it was christmas and with it new technologies arrived to the small village in northern Germany.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 4
  • #1

    greterewse (Freitag, 07 Dezember 2012 10:12)

    I truly wanted to construct a quick message in order to thank you for the stunning tips and tricks you are giving on this website. My incredibly long internet look up has now been rewarded with reliable suggestions to share with my friends. I would repeat that many of us visitors are rather endowed to be in a very good site with so many marvellous individuals with insightful plans. I feel quite privileged to have encountered your webpage and look forward to some more awesome minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once more for a lot of things.I wish to show my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular scenario. As a result of checking throughout the the net and seeing suggestions that were not pleasant, I was thinking my life was well over. Being alive minus the solutions to the issues you have resolved as a result of the article is a critical case, and the ones that might have adversely damaged my career if I hadn't noticed your website. Your main expertise and kindness in maneuvering every aspect was vital. I'm not sure what I would've done if I had not discovered such a stuff like this. It's possible to at this point look forward to my future. Thanks for your time so much for your skilled and result oriented help. I will not be reluctant to endorse your site to any individual who needs and wants guidelines about this subject.

  • #2

    atinlone1975 (Sonntag, 09 Dezember 2012 17:13)

    I truly wanted to construct a quick message in order to thank you for the stunning tips and tricks you are giving on this website. My incredibly long internet look up has now been rewarded with reliable suggestions to share with my friends. I would repeat that many of us visitors are rather endowed to be in a very good site with so many marvellous individuals with insightful plans. I feel quite privileged to have encountered your webpage and look forward to some more awesome minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once more for a lot of things.I wish to show my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular scenario. As a result of checking throughout the the net and seeing suggestions that were not pleasant, I was thinking my life was well over. Being alive minus the solutions to the issues you have resolved as a result of the article is a critical case, and the ones that might have adversely damaged my career if I hadn't noticed your website. Your main expertise and kindness in maneuvering every aspect was vital. I'm not sure what I would've done if I had not discovered such a stuff like this. It's possible to at this point look forward to my future. Thanks for your time so much for your skilled and result oriented help. I will not be reluctant to endorse your site to any individual who needs and wants guidelines about this subject.

  • #3

    Juicer Reviews (Freitag, 12 April 2013 09:53)

    This article was in fact exactly what I had been searching for!

  • #4

    deep cleaning services (Dienstag, 26 September 2017 09:25)

    A few cleaning products are more effective than others with respect to the type associated with carpet you've, such because natural as opposed to synthetic materials. Read the actual label on these items to obtain the one that may best get rid of dog or even pet urine smell from carpeting.